> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2009-01-05 > 10:13 p.m.

Button, button, who's got the button?

We saw The Curious Case of Benjamin Button a few days ago. I initially had no real interest in this film but we went to see it because the tiny Jindabyne Cinema screens two films in any given fortnight, and the other one was some children's film starring Adam Sandler - so that would have only ended in tears for everyone when I gnawed my own leg off and clubbed some small child with it.

As it happens, we made the right choice. I cannot recommend The Curious Case of Benjamin Button highly enough. It is a beautiful story, beautifully shot and beautifully cast. I would go to the cinema to see this one again, which is an incredibly rare thing for me to say. It is such a moving but unpretentious film.

Apparently it isn't really based on F. Scott Fitzgerald's story at all, other than the part where the main character ages backwards; however, since I enjoyed the movie so much, I was inspired to finally purchase and read The Great Gatsby, which for some reason I was not made to study in my English class like most of my friends. I found it to be a great read - a short book but where you really come to believe that these characters were real people.

Anyway, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button was also quite an education. I mean, without such advanced CGI techniques and stage makeup, we would have had to wait another 20 years to find out for ourselves that Brad Pitt is going to end up looking like Andre Rieu.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009