> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2008-09-14 > 10:53 a.m.

Work emails save me from thinking of real content.

So much for my good intentions to update more regularly. I will probably update soon when I have some job-related news (one way or another I will have a new role here at Books O'Reilly within a fortnight, since without even applying I've been offered two positions), but until then here are some emails from work that amused me at the time.

(Names changed to protect my continued employment with Books O'Reilly.)

EXHIBIT A

---
From: Director, Art
Sent: Thursday, 11 September 2008 12:36 PM
To: Poirot, Hercule; Pigeon, Marzipan
Subject: FW: ConsultingGroup upcoming CD-ROM development

Hi
ConsultantDude wants to have a meeting next week to discuss the following:

[boring forwarded email with meeting details and questions attached here]

Cheers,
Art

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Thursday, 11 September 2008 2:24 PM
To: Director, Art; Poirot, Hercule
Subject: RE: ConsultingGroup upcoming CD-ROM development

Probably best that I be there, I suppose. I know very little about the project (beyond "oh, it is gonna be BIG") so this meeting would probably benefit me.

Cheers,
Marzipan.

---
From: Poirot, Hercule
Sent: Thursday, 11 September 2008 2:25 PM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan; Director, Art
Subject: RE: ConsultingGroup upcoming CD-ROM development

It's larger than 0. But not indefinitely big.

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Thursday, 11 September 2008 2:28 PM
To: Poirot, Hercule
Subject: RE: ConsultingGroup upcoming CD-ROM development

Look, I'm trying to work with you here, but I can't even use those numbers to take an average as an estimate ...

(0 + infinity)/2 = ?

---
From: Poirot, Hercule
Sent: Thursday, 11 September 2008 2:34 PM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan
Subject: RE: Cubic Consulting Maths in Focus CD-ROM

(0+ infinity)/2 = insanity

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Thursday, 11 September 2008 2:41 PM
To: Poirot, Hercule
Subject: RE: ConsultingGroup upcoming CD-ROM development

I wish I could fault that!

---

EXHIBIT B

---
From: Wellington, Elena
Sent: Tuesday, 26 August 2008 8:31 AM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan
Subject: FW: Medical Textbook with X-Ray Stuff 2e

FYI Marzipan.

[boring email attached, containing details of how my schedule has been compromised by the author's excessive manuscript changes]

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Tuesday, August 26, 2008 9:38 AM
To: Wellington, Elena
Subject: RE: Medical Textbook with X-Ray Stuff 2e

Thanks, Elly. It is going to be a squeeze but we (go team!) should be able to manage it.

Cheers,
Marzipan.

---
From: Wellington, Elena
Sent: Tuesday, 26 August 2008 10:21 AM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan
Subject: RE: Medical Textbook with X-Ray Stuff 2e

Thanks Marzipan, should it be Team Schnauzer?

[NB That isn't as random as it sounds - Elly has a Schnauzer who is virtually an adopted child to her, and we often discuss Schnauzer antics since one of my dogs-in-law (i.e. Daniel's family's dogs) is half Schnauzer.]

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Tuesday, August 26, 2008 10:43 AM
To: Wellington, Elena
Subject: RE: Medical Textbook with X-Ray Stuff 2e

Yes, and our mascot can be an awesome robot Schnauzer from the future. (Apparently his name is Malcolm.)

Malcolm the awesome robot Schnauzer from the future

---
From: Wellington, Elena
Sent: Tuesday, 26 August 2008 10:44 AM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan
Subject: RE: Medical Textbook with X-Ray Stuff 2e

This is why dogs bite their owners.

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Tuesday, August 26, 2008 10:46 AM
To: Wellington, Elena
Subject: RE: Medical Textbook with X-Ray Stuff 2e

I think Malcolm the Robot Schnauzer from the Future might prefer to go for the eye-laser 'total annihilation' option, but I see your point.

---

EXHIBIT C

---
From: Director, Art
Sent: Wednesday, 20 August 2008 12:32 PM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan; Dallas, Eliza
Subject: CD-ROM worksheets

Amended worksheets attached!

Kind regards,

Art

---
From: Pigeon, Marzipan
Sent: Wednesday, 20 August 2008 1:26 PM
To: Director, Art; Dallas, Eliza
Subject: RE: CD-ROM worksheets

I like it.

---
From: Dallas, Eliza
Sent: Wednesday, 20 August 2008 1:28 PM
To: Pigeon, Marzipan; Director, Art
Subject: RE: CD-ROM worksheets

Yes, they look great. I've given Art a couple of small tweaks (not literally)

---





Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009