> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2008-11-02 > 9:14 p.m.

Lemony Snippets

NEW JOB
I start my new job (at the same company) tomorrow. Digital Content Editor, w00t! However, the person whose role I am taking is not just leaving the company - she is buggering off to Mexico. It ought to be an interesting week.

NEW PRODUCT
I seem to be getting drawn into an increasing number of meetings at work of late. I don't really mind this, and in fact one series of two-hour meetings, held every Wednesday afternoon to discuss a new product, has been particularly interesting. I especially enjoyed it when my new manager compared our new product to Leisure Suit Larry. I think a lot of people hadn't heard of the game, so she described it for the group, though sadly she made it sound a lot less seedy than it actually was and completely omitted the bit where you could die from an STD if you forgot to buy a condom before you scored with a hooker. I may need to clarify this for everybody at the start of our next meeting to eliminate confusion and embarrassment. If you are going to use Books O'Reilly products, please use protection or things could get itchy.

NEW HOUSE
The house becomes ours on the 20th of November, which is now 18 days away. I learnt over the past few weeks that when a bank says a loan is "conditionally approved", all they are really telling you is "hi, we received your application". Bastards.

SAME OLD MARZIPIGEON
Art Director and I sometimes forget that our working relationship is somewhat "special". Her cupcakes, as she tells us all, are made of awesome, so she likes to whip up a batch of something tasty whenever it's someone's birthday. She wanted to try something new and lemony for mine so she did a test batch a couple of weeks before my birthday and gave me samples. In our department meeting that Friday, discussion of my impending birthday came up.

Art Director: Hey, I gave you a couple of cupcakes from that test batch a few days ago - the ones I'm going to make for your birthday. Were those OK?
Me: No, they sucked.
AD: Fuckhead.
Senior Editor: I love how you two are always so nice to each other.
Me: Uhm ... the cupcakes were lovely, thankyou.

Postscript edit: I have just finished watching a video clip of MmmBop by Hanson (shut up, I'm organising a trivia night and I need fodder). I found it hilarious that for the most of the second half of the clip there is an enormous pansy in the background. It just seems so appropriate.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009