> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2006-02-03 > 1:35 p.m.

Quickie

It's a common story - I typed an entry and then the window randomly shut itself, and then my computer blew a raspberry and stuck up two fingers at me.

Luckily, the idea behind my entry was that since my last one was so long, this one was to be summarised. So I'll try to recreate my summary:

...one...
Since we're killing our mortgage repayments right now, Daniel & I have decided to give more to charity each week. We're torn between humanitarian issues, medical issues, environmental issues in the "save the whales/pygmy possums/tree frogs/bizarre species of tropical fish" Greenpeace sense, and environmental issues in the "we like to use words like 'sustainability' and 'efficiency' and 'future generations'" alternative energy sense. Maybe we will divide our weekly donation money between all four. Or maybe we will blow it all on beer (is there a Liver Society we can donate to?).

...two...
For our last two nights in the Swiss Alps in March, we will be staying here. We found it by accident and it looks incredible.

To quote the website: "With PlayStation, DVD, home cinema surround system, beamer or plasma-TV."

Our room has a 'beamer' (projector). Is this not one of the coolest hotels you have ever seen?

...three...
I found an on-off paper diary of mine that I'd forgotten about, which is odd since it's my most recent one and my last entry was late last year. I like reading my (ever sporadic) entries about what was going on in my life, how I was feeling, things that were bothering me. No matter how hard I try, I just can't be "me" at a keyboard. Seeing the words in my own handwriting though, written in the style of one who knows that nobody is ever likely to read them, it just carries so much more of myself in it.

...four...
That massive huntsman I mentioned in my last entry is dead. I saw it lying in a crumpled heap on the ground floor, just by the front door, having presumably fallen two storeys after being flogged to death by the rolled-up latest edition of a surf magazine.

I was actually kind of sad to see it dead, because for all the terror those things cause me, they are magnificent too.

Still, I arrived on the top floor to find that in its place were two smaller new ones, so now there are three huntsmen living on the window on the landing upstairs. This is starting to get ridiculous.

...five...
Daniel is doing little stomach exercises right now. Whenever he does anything that causes muscles to flex, I must resist urges, and do my best not to drop what I am doing and stare.

...six...
There is no number six.

...seven...
I'm pretty much all packed for when we leave on Wednesday, and to my surprise I came is under our (piddly one-bag, 20kg) luggage limit even with all my snow gear and a month's worth of winter clothes. Funny how you can re-evaluate what constitutes a month's worth of clothes when such restrictions are placed upon you. All it really takes is a slight paradigm shift from "I'd like to be devastatingly fashionable and have something different to wear every day" to "the skanky smelly backpacker look is hip!" I am taking a grand total of two pairs of pants, one of which is actually the pair I wear when I am snowboarding - though fortunately this pair is a good enough fit that I could wear them in public as cargo pants. Also, by way of footwear: one pair of boots (other than my snowboarding boots, which are sadly a bit awkward for everyday use). Oh yeah, I'm skankin' it up real good.

I think that's about it. I have a wedding to go to tomorrow and editing/proofreading homework to get done on Sunday so I may not update. Happy weekend to anyone reading this. Oh, and to some of you random Googlers who keep finding this diary through searches on Oasis lyrics... you guys are getting the words wrong!



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009