> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2009-06-21 > 10:08 p.m.

Only because I said I'd write something

Normal teenagers like to write sketches, right? You know, because they grew up on Monty Python and they believe absurdist sketches to be the pinnacle of comedy?

And normal teenagers also have this quiet dream that the sketches they're writing will become the biggest thing on television and their ingenious writing will make them famous, don't they?

Well, good. I was a nice, normal teenager then.

A few weeks ago I dug out some of the sketches I wrote when I was in high school - I have a couple of hundred, varying in quality from 'Rather good, actually' to 'Let's pretend that one never happened, shall we?' to 'What the hell was that even about?' - and that warm, fuzzy dressing-gown of nostalgia* wrapped itself around me and offered me tea. It fetched my slippers and licked the side of my face and then threw up in the corner because it had been eating grass while I wasn't home.

And then I remembered with such fondness that feeling of being inspired to create something and share it.

I also remembered - less fondly, I must say - the time my boyfriend and I got out the tape recorder (Gen Y, remember those? No, thought not) and recorded ourselves performing one of our sketches, only to discover that our voices sounded flat and awful on tape. We pretty much dropped the whole idea at that point as we couldn't think of anyone we knew who would be even slightly interested in performing our scripts. That was almost 10 years ago now.

Well, I have just managed to make a five-second cartoon in CreaToon with lip-synched sound.

Watch out, world. I have free animation and audio editing software and a lot of time on my hands. The work of my teen years may make me famous after all.

* Speaking of nostalgia, I realised the other day that whilst most milestones in my teen and adult life took place to a Beatles song or album, and a couple to Simon & Garfunkel** or Queen, there is one milestone in my life that will forever be associated with Kylie Minogue's Can't Get You Out of My Head, which was all over the radio at the time, and I don't know what to do about it. I would dearly love to jam a spoon into my brain and scoop out the offending material but I don't trust myself to leave the surrounding, more useful, matter intact. Knowing me, the spoon would end up in my eye and Kylie would taunt me forever. "Caaaaan't get me out of your head ..."

** Touring! Right now! How did not find out about this until it was upon us? Last Sydney concert the day after tomorrow. No, they are not my favourite musicians in the whole wide world but they do have some good songs, many of which I grew up with, and all of which would be great to hear live. Can you imagine Bridge Over Troubled Water sung live by Simon & Garfunkel?

---

Things that made me happy this week:

- Finding out, second-hand, that my managers think highly of me and my standard of work. Sometimes you need to hear these things.

- My nephew. Once he stopped screaming.

- Spending more than I have ever spent in one go before on clothing. I have really, really needed new clothing for many months and I decided to go for items that would last, both in terms of style and quality. Those tend to be a bit pricier than my usual fare.

- Finding out that Pigeon had a secret stash of chocolate to offer me when I am in a less-than-pleasant mood. Reinforce that behaviour, I say!



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009