> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2008-03-11 > 8:04 p.m.

Small town crazy

With several days' worth of Honeymoon experience up my sleeve, I think I have managed to develop a fair and unbiased opinion of people in small towns: they're batty. Perhaps Small Town Batties are not battier than the batty people in larger cities, but it seems to me that the ratio of batty people to sane people in small towns is well out of alignment.

We spent three days in a small, coastal town, and the number of people I saw talking to themselves seemed alarmingly large considering their tiny population. Maybe they ran out of people to talk to and decided that it was just the best option.

It also became quite apparent that some townsfolk (presumably not all, or so I'd like to believe) think that Sydneysiders are kind of stupid because we're not down with the happenings of their tiny town.

Here's an abridged version of a conversation I had with a guy at the Information desk when I wanted a map.

Me: Hi. We're trying to get to Honeymoon Bay. Do you have directions?
Balding And Tanned Superior Information Man: (In a broad accent) You're on the wrong side of the river!
Me: (By way of assuring him that we weren't just a couple of idiots who had driven past their turnoff and become lost) Yes, we're staying here. We're just hoping to get over to Honeymoon Bay for the day.
BATSIM: (Starts giving us very fast directions, naming roads and landmarks with which we are completely unfamiliar)
Me: Er...
BATSIM: (Looking at us as though we're stupid for not knowing the T-intersection he was referring to) Look, when you drove down here, did you see the roadworks?
Me: ...
BATSIM: You know, on the highway. The roadworks by the bridge. (Exasperated) You'd have to have passed them to get here!
Me: (In my head) I passed two sets of roadworks before I even left Sydney. Yes, I probably passed your Big News Roadworks*, along with four other instances along the same stretch of highway. I'm sorry I didn't think to commit your Momentous New Gravel Infrastructure to memory at the time.
Me: (Out loud) Oh, yeah, now I remember. Those roadworks.
Me: (In my head) Liar!

* And supporting Midnight Oil and Rose Tattoo on their upcoming tours: Big News Roadworks! (Also, I heard Richard Glover on the radio today refer to a bag of potatoes as "ten kilos of spud". Now, if I were going to start a band to rival Russell Crowe's infamous Thirty Odd Foot of Grunt, I would surely call it Ten Kilos of Spud. And I'd have the Gallaghers fronting it.)

We did find Honeymoon Bay in the end. It was closed for naval target practice exercises.

(We just went to the next bay over, which was not being shot at by the navy at that time.)

Actually, the naval jet plane was quite cool. It would fly right over our accommodation at ludicrous speeds, with a sound like the fist of God punching a hole through the sky, and would corkscrew and fly upside-down.

Flight of the Conchords is not relevant here, but I had to mention them because they are very funny, even if they are Kiwis. Here is a song from the first episode of their TV show. I don't know how many times I've seen this clip but it still makes me laugh. I have all the shows on DVD.

Here, have another one.

More into live stuff? It's business time! Oh no - the humans are dead!

I've got to stop posting Flight of the Conchords links. I'm going to end up posting all their songs. Just get on YouTube and have a click around for their other stuff. It's all good.

* * *

I got a bonus at work today. Part of me wants to fantasise about all the things I could buy with it, but the realist in me knows that it's going straight into the mortgage. Sigh.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009