> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2006-02-18 > 1:55 p.m.

Holy crapsicles!

Okay, not much time, el freako keyboard and overpriced Internet. Short entry.

Firstly, for cloudy, Ljubljana is in Slovenia, it's the capital there. It was a huge city, way bigger than I expected (I was expecting something more along the lines of Bratislava, capital of Slovakia, where we were last year - small, dinky, homely... but Ljubljana is a grand place, on a grand scale, almost like Paris in parts).

Found a hilarious sugary product: "creamy dreams". Trust two boys to find a product like that in an innocent supermarket setting. (Actually today Daniel found bubblegum that had "Bum! Bum!" written across the top, inexplicably. Bought it for the novelty value.)

Am in Ischgl (Austria) now. The only way to ride here is fast. You can try going slowly but you'll just scrape the wax off your board and hurt your leg muscles. I have had some real buzzes here so far, just going so fast. Yesterday there was fresh snow everywhere and we just went around the whole resort chasing powder until our legs died (took today off). Got some really long runs in, all fresh and fluffy.

The other day we went out to Innsbruck. I'm sorry but I still don't see the big deal about that place. Anyway, I got Daniel into a pair of ice skates with me, while Joel sat and laughed at us both. He snapped a classy photo of me with my bum in the air and my hands on the ice, trying to get back up. I got the feel of it though, whilst Daniel... well, he barely let go of the barrier on the side. Try to imagine your pet cat on the ice, and it's about as comfortable as he looked. Legs stiff and out wide, looking down intently at his feet. Classic.

We then went bobsledding. Holy crap. I don't know if the fat Austrian nutcase "driving" the bobsled even put out his cigarette stub before taking off. My helmet was way too big and slid down over my eyes after the first corner, so that the only way I knew when we were hitting a bend in the track was when my head bounced off the side of the bobsled. I have never been so utterly convinced of my own impending violent death. You have to hang on so tight, and they really never warned about that. At the end, I got out with my legs trembling, and my body was silently doing a little internal systems check - heart beat: yes; can feel limbs: yes; eyesight: operational; lungs: functional but in hyperventilating state. As I did so, this Austrian nutter helped me out of the sled, saying "Gut, ja?" I muttered something vaguely positive and tried to stay upright.

That sport is for the suicidal and clinically insane.

Watched an ice hockey match live, which was good as always. Might be seeing another match tomorrow.

Got home at midnight, just in time to watch and laugh at the XXX-rated commercials. We discovered the dirty nature of European TV last year, but it's more funny than sexy. There's always at least one ad with a naked and grossly obese woman rubbing her massive norgs together. It's strangely hypnotic, but in no way sexy.

Anyway, got to go and do stuff. Might update again in Switzerland. Oh, it's snowing again - might be a nice day for snowboarding tomorrow.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009