> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2008-04-15 > 10:11 p.m.

Open to interpretation

I don't like to be negative, but I'm just a teensy bit tired of my rate of pay at work, in that it could easily be used as an alternative for "pittance" in any respectable thesaurus. My latest pay rise was, shall we say, disappointing, yet my managers have been acting like the grandparents who have just given their youngest grandchild an enormous lollipop. Quite frankly this just smacks of "hello little puppy, here's a kick for Christmas. Oh by the way, you have leukaemia, isn't that great?"

I feel that there are three interpretations available to me here.

1. There is a zero missing from the end of my salary.

Sadly, unlikely.

2. I work for a vibrant company full of fun, intelligent, lively tightarses.

I've toyed with this one a bit. I have a horrible, sinking feeling that it's not far from the truth, and an even more horrible, chunk-of-concrete-tied-to-my-shoes feeling that it's because there just isn't much money available to offer. This would leave me with two possible courses of action: look for a new job, or see if I can outlast the two people who currently outrank me in my department. I haven't decided yet.

3. I misinterpreted my job description at the outset.

Dear Marzipan,
Management is pleased to offer you a salary of $Peanuts in your new role with Books O'Reilly as Full-Time Monkey. This role may involve, but is not limited to, picking lice off the senior editor, prodding our office equipment and flinging poo over cubicle walls.

* * *

OK, I admit it. I still like my job. But don't tell the PMS fairy.

* * *

As I sit here typing, there is a jazz radio station playing in the background, because for all my musical ignorance I happen to enjoy a bit of good jazz.

The particular style of jazz varies throughout the day; at present, being nearly 11pm, it's pretty much in the lounge/elevator music range. I know that as a genre, jazz does tend to borrow from popular music, but I think Jazz has just outdone itself: despite the syncopated timing (and the distinct impression of standing in a lift to the Ladies' Section of some 1960s department store), I managed to work out that the familiar tune being saxed to the max and snare-drummed into oblivion in my living room was in fact Come As You Are by Nirvana. Well done, Jazz. Bravo.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009