> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2009-06-25 > 10:02 p.m.

A pocketful of mumbles

I wish I had the energy to expand on the incredible experience that was me seeing Simon and Garfunkel live, but I fear I would not do it justice in this entry. I never imagined that I would have the chance to see 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' performed live by its creators (who, by the way, seemed so overjoyed to be performing together again), and it was amazing that Art Garfunkel's voice was just as sweet as you remember it.

So no details for now; I am exhausted this week, as interesting things have continued to happen to me.

The day after the concert I went out for tea with my general manager for what I thought was going to be a catch-up to find out how my workload is going, with a possible mention of a terrifying project with which I am closely involved. Instead, imagine this: You are at Point X in your career, aiming for Point Y medium-term in order to eventually reach Point Z. A Point Y job opens up but you quietly decide not to apply, as you have only been at Point X for eight months and feel you have not achieved enough or finished things off enough to be ready to move on.

Are you with me?

Wednesday afternoon: Manager takes me to tea and outright offers me the Point Y role (Wow #1) but adds that I have greatly improved communication between departments (Wow #2), as evidenced by comments to her from my colleagues (Wow #3) and she would like to have my current role filled by someone who would then report to me (Wow #4).

Whilst I admitted that I didn't entirely understand the dual-role vision, of course I am going to take it, because I am mostly not a crazy person. I have no idea whether I'm capable, but the managers seem to think I am. I've floated through my current role feeling lost but apparently doing it well, so I can't see why I shouldn't try floating around lost in some new and exciting role.

Apologies for the blandness. Again I point you in the direction of my exhaustion.

This has been a Boring Documentation of Life entry, brought to you by the letters S & G.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009