> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2009-08-09 > 1:01 a.m.

Take my arms, that I might reach you

At last count I think I had just been to a Simon and Garfunkel concert and also been promoted, and was basking in awesomeness.

I am now still kind of riding that wave, really. Not since I 'discovered' the Beatles at 13 have I found musicians that really changed the way I enjoyed songs and music, so it has been a lot of fun learning the Simon & Garfunkel repertoire. I'm discovering that there's a real romance to the Simon & Garfunkel story too, which is a nice touch.

My new employee is doing well and fitting in nicely at work. I think she has the offbeat sense of humour that will help her to feel at home at Books O'Reilly. Last Sunday, the night before my new staff member started, I slept terribly - I get anxious because I'm a schmuck and don't deal well with change (but am at least sensible enough to seek it out from time to time nonetheless) - but I've settled into things and I think everything is going to work out fine.

* * * * *

I just got back from Moorebank Sports Club, which was interesting. Daniel's in Melbourne for the weekend so I was going to be just hanging around at home on my own. I decided to go and see what Sporties is like when they have a bit of live music going on a Saturday evening instead. Sat myself down with a beer and got out my notepad and Art's wedding RSVP (we're supposed to draw her a picture) and started making notes and sketching. It was already a slightly odd experience because it turns out I knew the guy performing; we used to go to the same dance studio for a while and I remember he was an amazingly good singer and a good piano player too. Double awkward points for the fact that when I was 12, maybe 13, I had a crush on him (I tended to develop a crush on any guy who could sing - bit of a weakness of mine, I suppose). Chose to ignore that element this evening, though, and just enjoy the music.

Anyway I'd been there for half an hour, maybe an hour, when a young guy asked if the seat next to me was free. Nice of him to even ask, as I had been sitting alone at a table for eight for an hour. I smiled and said "no, help yourself", thinking he'd take the chair and go. Instead he sat down next to me and said: "so - what have you been drawing?"

I tried to explain the complex series of subtle in-jokes that I was melding together for my friend's wedding RSVP, but we just ended up chatting and he stayed put. (By the way, yes, I did mention that I'm married, for anyone who was going to hunt down my husband and tell him what a tart I am.) He looked surprised when I mentioned, in answer to his question, that I was 27 (apparently I look about 23, hurrah!); he's 22. He bought me a beer and called me Shorty for the rest of the evening, mainly because he was 6'3 and I wasn't. I'm not especially short. His friends slowly migrated to the table, and to my surprise I really enjoyed the company. Bunch of young guys from the army barracks, talking rubbish really. Eyeing off hot girls, talking about what hairstyles they had before the army made them shave it all off, comparing stories of Picket, which is the guard shift they all have to take turns doing at the barracks. Oh and comparing Corona to cat's piss. The following sage advice was dispensed: "Buy a man a Corona and he'll drink for a night. Buy him a cat and he'll drink for life." Mmm. Deep.

When it came to the last song, the table's newest addition, a guy who looked like Jamie who dated Daniel's cousin for a while, requested 'Roxanne' by the Police.

Bit of a surprise from a guy who was also (presumably) 22 years old. Said it was his favourite song ever.

So this evening could have consisted of me sitting at home on my own, Googling pointless trivia and maybe plunking away at my guitar alone, but instead turned into a reminder of the value of human interaction. I had the chance to smile not just because I'd read something amusing on a website, but because I was just happy.

I'm going to do it again next time I have the chance.



Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009