> Profile

> Rings

> Notes

> Email

> Diaryland

> Photobucket

...(

web statistics
)
2009-11-01 > 11:59 p.m.

The middle of a raging faecal storm

First, you may be wondering why it's been four months since my last entry. To that I say: it takes many consecutive hours of hard work to get the couch cushions moulded to the exact shape of your own arse, and that certainly wasn't going to happen if I went gallavanting off to write blog entries instead, was it?

I have also done the following:

Travel
Spent three and a half weeks in Germany for the trip of my life with my mum. I've started uploading photos and the general story to my Facebook account, a task that I thought would take an hour or two but so far has eaten three evenings without so much as chewing, and that was only to get the Berlin ones up - God, I felt so at home in Berlin - but there's still Freiburg, Munich (& Neuschwannstein), Nuremberg, Kassel and Frankfurt to go.

Nerdly musical inspiration
Bought a new acoustic guitar (and it turns out I'm not the only one). I wish I could fool myself into thinking that it was for a cooler reason than my newfound fangirl awe over Simon & Garfunkel, but sadly I am no match for myself and never seem to fall for my tricks, no matter how ingeniously crafty.

Also I have a disturbing crush on Art Garfunkel's hair. (Naturally I have a schoolgirl crush on his beautiful voice too, but at least that sits more within the realm of normality.)

Work
Yeah.

Twitter is the new beige
I opened an account a year ago, got over it 11 months ago and shortly thereafter stopped using it altogether.

Until today.

By clicking on a link from a news article in half-hearted interest, I was able to witness, in real time, Stephen Fry getting very upset over a Twitterer commenting to another Twitterer that Fry's tweets were a little boring, Stephen's threat to leave Twitter altogether, the ensuing outrage, the fan factions, Alan Davies throwing himself into the fray and calling anyone not on Stephen's side a tosser, wanker or cunt, the original Twitterer's surprise at being thrust into the Limelight of Twitter Hatred in the middle of a raging faecal storm (or TwitStorm, as I elect to call it), his blog entries attempting to explain the context, Stephen's sheepish tweet upon his arrival at LA airport, his subsequent apology to the supposedly offensive Twitterer and the "let's all be friends now" moment. I am in AWE of this technology. Twitter is like a sanctioned version of hanging around outside someone's bedroom window with your nose pressed against the glass, waiting for the good stuff to start.

I've now got my computer all hooked up with notify.me so I'll know right away when someone has decided to publicise their cat's latest bout of mild amusingness. Come on, people. Surely one of you has a cat that's doing something right now. Post it. I need to know.

---

Things that have made me happy this week:

- Mitchell and Webb sketch comedy. This stuff is pure gold and makes me want to start writing sketches again. But good ones this time.

- The fact that my 14-month-old nephew has decided, in a somewhat postmodern interpretation of human expression, that the best way of conveying pure joy is by snorting like a truffle pig.




Last | Current | Next

Older stuff



Last five entries:

The funtime pantslessness conversion scale! - 2013-01-28
I smear myself in honey - 2011-01-30
I said NO photographs. - 2011-01-02
Be more disco. - 2010-12-28
If I were a pimp for a gigolo - 2010-11-17


Copyright Marzipanmind 2005-2009